Doyon Foundation scholarship recipients who are graduating from high school, college or vocational programs this spring will be honored at a special reception this Friday, May 10. The event will take place at 2 p.m. in the Doyon, Limited Chiefs Court at 1 Doyon Place in Fairbanks. The event is free and open to the public.

The afternoon will open with a welcome from Doyon Foundation Executive Director Doris Miller and Board President Lanien Livingston. Attendees will hear from honorary guests Miranda Wright, director of the Alaska Native Studies and Rural Development Department at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF), as well as Sen. John Sackett, Doyon, Limited’s first president and a recipient of an honorary doctorate of law from UAF.

Doyon Foundation Board Vice President Allan Hayton will share insights as an alumnus before graduate speaker Stephanie Ashcraft gives the event’s graduate address. The Foundation will also take the opportunity to honor outgoing board members Wesley Roberts Dalton, Lorraine David and Shane Derendoff.

More than 50 Foundation students from across Alaska and Outside are expected to graduate this spring with high school diplomas, certificates, and associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees. In addition to the reception, the students will be recognized in a special edition of the Foundation’s e-newsletter, which will be distributed later this spring. Foundation students who are graduating and wish to be honored should contact the Foundation at 907.459.2048 or

Doyon Foundation is the private foundation of Doyon, Limited, and serves the educational and cultural needs of Doyon’s shareholders and their children. Since inception in 1989, the Foundation has awarded more than $6 million in scholarships.

For more information, please visit or contact 907.459.2048 or