The Doyon Foundation board of directors grew from seven to nine members, following a vote at its annual membership meeting. The Foundation is pleased to welcome two new board members: LaVerne Demientieff and Marie Monroe. Incumbents Lanien Livingston and Sonta Roach were re-elected at the meeting.

LaVerne Bio PicLaVerne, who was born in Fairbanks, Alaska, graduated from the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) with her bachelor’s in social work and went on to receive her master’s in social work from Washington University in St. Louis. She is currently working toward a PhD in social work from the University of Utah, College of Social Work. LaVerne also works as a clinical associate professor for UAF’s bachelor’s of social work program, and is a licensed master social worker through the State of Alaska. A former Doyon Foundation scholarship recipient, LaVerne stated that the scholarship was so needed and helpful for many years. She is happy to be able to serve on the Doyon Foundation board to give back to the organization and her community.

Marie Monroe 2Marie Irwin Monroe, of Nenana, Alaska, graduated from Nenana High School in 1970, and owned and operated her own transportation business from 1975 to 2000. From 1996 to present, she has been general manager of the Kantishna Roadhouse/Doyon Tourism. Marie, who has several family members who received scholarships from Doyon Foundation, says, “I am excited about the language revitalization work the Foundation has embarked upon, and I look forward to contributing to this and all of the other educational programs and opportunities the Foundation brings to our community.”

The board also held an officer election at the board meeting earlier this month. The officers remain the same, with Lanien Livingston serving as president, Paul Mountain as vice president, and Julie Anderson as secretary treasurer.

Other board members include Victor Nicholas, Helena Jacobs, Joshua Peter and Sonta Roach.

For more information, including full board member bios, visit

The Doyon Foundation board of directors held officer elections at their recent meeting in Fairbanks.

Re-elected were Lanien Livingston as president and Julie Anderson as secretary/treasurer. Board member Paul Mountain was elected as vice president.

Other Foundation board members include Wally Carlo, Helena Jacobs, Joshua Peter and Sonta Roach.

Learn more about the Foundation board members on our website.

The Doyon Foundation board of directors elected officers at their January 26 meeting in Fairbanks.


Lanien Livingston, who joined the board in 2012, was elected president. Allan Hayton, also elected to the board in 2012, will serve as vice president. Julie Anderson will continue her role as board secretary and treasurer.

Livingston, a Doyon Foundation alumna, holds an associate’s of applied science degree in applied business and a business management certificate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She currently works as a recruiter for Tanana Chiefs Conference in the human resources department.

Hayton, a Doyon Foundation alumnus, studied theatre at Haskell Indian Nations University and the University of Kansas, finishing his bachelor’s of arts degree in 1992. Hayton is currently completing a master’s of arts degree in applied linguistics at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Anderson obtained her bachelor’s of business administration in international management from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 1990. She also holds a master’s of business administration from the American Graduate School of International Management. She is currently the engineering business manager at Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. in Anchorage.

For more information on the Doyon Foundation board, visit